ABC Graduate Student’s Panel

Dionell McNealName:  Dionell McNeal

Hometown:  Alexandria, La.

Age: 22

Dream Job:  To be a Market Researcher for the Nielsen Company

Advice for students pursuing communication:  College is the time to gather all the tools you need to make your life successful in the field in which you choose.  Learn as much as possible and go beyond learning materials that are just needed for class.  Stick with the professors of Manship most importantly.  These are people who are in your field and have an amazing amount of expertise in what they do.  Don’t just see them and wave, but build relationships that one day can help you advance to the place in life where you want to be.

Who inspires you the most and why:  Jinx Broussard inspires me the most in life.  While being my mentor, she never leaves me room for an excuse.  She always makes me go above and beyond on every task I have. She is one of the most hard-working people I know.  She always says, “Do your job, so that no one living or dead can do it better than you.”  For as long as I live, this will forever be my motto.

Kali JohnsonName: Kali Johnson

 

Hometown: Baton Rouge, LA

Age: 24

Dream Job: PR Director of an established firm; but if we’re really dreaming, Sports Agent

Advice for students pursuing communication: The field is wide open and growing rapidly. There is a strong need for communications majors and that is largely thanks to social media. Once you find your niche, focus on it and learn all you can about it. And if you haven’t found that niche, don’t worry. Chase your passions and the rest will follow.

Who inspires you the most and why:  It’s cliche, but my mom. She’s a lady in every sense of the word, but she means business. She’s firm, yet gentle and extremely supportive. That’s what I aspire to be and do.

 

Kathleen JacksonFull name: Kathleen Jackson 

Hometown: Champaign, IL

Age: 27

Dream Job: A flexible career with travel would be my dream job. Specifically, I would love to be an independent marketing consultant for boutique and local businesses.

Advice for students pursuing communication: You really can’t go wrong with pursing higher education or a career in communication. The skills learned in this field are beneficial across the board in terms of jobs, education, and functioning in everyday life.

Who inspires you the most and why: I am inspired by many hard-working people I have encountered in life. Most importantly, because of my faith, I am inspired by Jesus Christ! I use Him as an example for how I should live my life each day.

Leave a Reply

